paris

Palais Garnier- A Paris Beauty

You know the anticipation you feel when you are about to walk into a special building, park, or even a home? You are not really sure what to expect.. You can see it’s beauty from the outside, but when you actually walk in, it takes your breath away!me-and-the-opera-2

Well, these are my feelings about The Paris Opera house, known as Palais Garnier, which was built from 1861 to 1875 for the Paris Opera.

palais garnier 4

The emperor Napoleon III held an architectural design competition for the new opera house in 1860, and he awarded the job to Charles Garnier, hence the name.

I have wandered around the outside many times, marveling at the gold details, huge columns, statues, and famous composers etched in stone.

opra-and-i

palais garnier 7

fall-fashion-4
Paris in November

palais garnier 3me-and-j-opera

Finally, I went inside! Yeap, twice in the last month, once with my hubby and again with My Mama. I had to take her back to explore the lavish interior design.

palais garnier 5

The grand staircase made of colored marble is over the top gorgeous. But, once I looked up and saw the masterpiece on the ceiling I stared for 30 minutes.

IMG_0072

palais garnier 6IMG_0083IMG_0100IMG_0109
Everywhere I glanced, I saw intricate details, lighting, and colors that drew me in. Photos cannot do justice to how grand the Opera feels when walking in.

IMG_0075

palais garnier 9IMG_0067IMG_0087IMG_0085IMG_0062

palais garnier 2
Every detail of each statue is perfection
IMG_0158
Entry into box seats
IMG_0166
My Mom posing with box seat entry “31” for my age.

When I walked into the grand foyer, I was in awe!! Imagine, a very long, shimmering, room with extremely high ceilings, and every-inch covered in gold! There are countless LARGE chandeliers, mirrors, windows, and fireplaces that add light.

IMG_0116
Feels like home to me. lol!
IMG_0164
A group of students were learning about the Palais Garnier. They looked picture perfect in the Grand Foyer.
IMG_0113
My Mom was stunned by the GOLD!
IMG_0121
Hand painted ceilings are incredibly intricate. The art is of different moments of musical history.
IMG_0119
Of course, there is a 6 foot fireplace

IMG_0125IMG_0111IMG_0105

The first time I visited the Opera, I did not see the Salon de la Lune and Salon du Soleil (balconies at the front of the Opera). So, the 2nd visit with my Mom we had a blast snapping photos, people watching, and imagining what it must have been like in the late 1800s as an Opera guest, looking over the city from a royal balcony.

IMG_0144IMG_0149IMG_0142

IMG_0134IMG_0148IMG_0131IMG_0128IMG_0127

Finally, I have to share the library museum that is now owned by The Bibliothèque Nationale de France. I turned a corner and there it was.. This lovely gem!

IMG_0155

I had an amazing time during both visits, and I saw new details each time. I might have to go back, and hopefully I will go for a show one day.

palais garnier 10

signature

8 thoughts on “Palais Garnier- A Paris Beauty

  1. What a beautiful description. I enjoyed every word and every picture. You are such a great writer and I appreciate you sharing! You are so fortunate to get to enjoy all of this!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Rainer! Thank you SO much! That means the world to me. The only thing that would of made our trip better, would be having you there. Miss you and think about you all the time.

      Like

  2. Alyson…. love the pics of this, my favorite spot to hang my hat in Paris for a few hours. In fact, from your feature pic, before even seeing the title, I was pretty sure that that’s where you were. I’ve been dozens of times and, like you, there is always some new detail to discover. Here’s to many more great visits! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

