Uncategorized

Bonjour, Paris!

The first time I traveled to Paris I fell in love, kind of like the way NYC makes me feel, alive! You must have traveled to a place, near or far, that you remember visiting for the first time, and you felt instantly connected! The experience of living in a big city has been a dream of mine since I was young. I remember being a little girl and telling my Mom, I wanted to live in an apartment, above a florist in NYC when I grow up.. Well, it’s not NYC and it’s not above a florist, but I am grown and living in Paris with my husband!

selfie-in-paris
Exploring The Montmarte neighborhood the first month I moved to Paris. When it was still summer weather! *sigh*

 

 

our-paris-flat
Our apartment building in Paris

 

Of course, we call Florida home. Each May the European basketball season ends, and we head back to Florida, for a summer break at home. It’s amazing to be home with friends and family, but in the back of my mind I wonder, where will we be living next season? It’s usually a different city, or even a new country each season (Luckily for me, we returned to Paris for second season). Once August rolls around, our summer winds down and we prepare for another basketball season abroad. We pack up as much of our lives that we can fit into suitcases, mail packages overseas filled with our beloved American products, and say goodbye to our home. Once we have filled our luggage to the brim, packed up Estelle in her travel bag, and begin our journey towards the airport, we are in THE travel zone, and at this point my stomach is usually in knots! You know that feeling when you think you are forgetting something? Yea, that’s always me when I am traveling.

 

packing-for-paris-2
I needed to fit all of this (and more, much more) into two suitcases!
packing-for-paris
I did it! I found a new talent! lol
packages-for-paris
Two out of the four boxes I sent before my departure date. Usually filled with American kitchen/bathroom products, vitamins, and sometimes extra shoes that couldn’t fit in the luggage (don’t judge lol). *Boxes are larger than they appear*

After paying a small fortune to check all of our luggage, get through security, and make it to our flight’s gate, I am able breathe again.

unnamed-1
Estelle all ready to board the flight from Atlanta to Paris!

After a long flight, a couple of movies, and a sleeping pill, we arrive! It’s a surreal, yet exciting feeling to arrive in a country that felt a world away, my entire life, but is now a 2nd home. Immediately, we are immersed in a foreign land, language, and culture. The first couple of days are spent adjusting and settling in.. Oh yea, and eating warm croissants, while sipping on fresh brewed espresso (something I miss SO much when I am in FL). Whenever I first arrive in Europe, I feel like life suddenly slows down a bit.. Buildings and local streets feel rich with history, people seem at leisure (except when driving, that’s another story), and overall less is more. After the initial shock fades, time seems to start flying by! So I make lists of all my must see, must do, must eat, and must learn during the next 9 months. You never know what life will bring, I certainly did not think I would be living in Europe 9 months out of the year, especially not in Paris! But here I am, and I would not change my life for anything. So, stay excited for life, you never know what is around the corner. Can’t wait to share my adventures with you!

view-from-eiffel
View from the top of The Eiffel Tower.

“Give thanks for unknown blessing already on their way”!- Native American Proverb

signature

Leave a Reply

